Developing a Customer Profile

Approximately twenty years ago, I read Swim with the Sharks Without Being Eaten Alive: Outsell, Outmanage, Outmotivate, and Outnegotiate Your Competition by Harvey Mackay. In the book, Harvey Mackay presented a customer profile he used for his customers. I’ve used this profile for my customers when I was in sales. Since then I’ve modified this document.

Below is the Customer Profile that I currently use in a PDF. Developing a profile for your customer helps you know what your customer really wants. This profile helps you to recognize customer needs besides products such as: recognition, respect, reliability, concerns, service, friendship, or feeling of self-importance. I’ve developed separate profiles for new and old customers. I determine the type of customer they are to me using an ABCD scale. Business types I use are Sub-Contractor, Builder, General Contractor, and others.

Customer Profile

2 thoughts on “Developing a Customer Profile

Leave a Reply

