Every Day Is A School Day

What new things have you learned today or this past week? Below is a blog post from  Manage Better Now.

Every Day Is A School Day

Continuous Learning Steps

That may seem like an odd title for this time of the year.  Most kids are getting out of school and looking forward to a summer of relaxation, but I am not a kid and I certainly do not get the summer off (although I really like the concept).  Not only do I not get the summer off, but I view everyday as a school day and so should you.

As a child, school was just a formal mechanism to ensure that we learned all of the basic things that we needed to (writing, reading, and arithmetic) to survive and hopefully thrive in the world.  As an adult, the mechanisms to educate ourselves are not quite as formal.  No one is going to force us to learn new things.  In fact, you could probably work the same entry-level job for 40-50 years and go home every night and get in a solid four or five hours of television if you so desired.  No one is going to force you to continue to educate yourself.

I am willing to bet that you are not the type of person that will be satisfied with a dead-end job and living vicariously through your television.  You welcome the chance to learn new things as it frequently leads to new opportunities.  So what new things are you going to learn today?

I know I tend to get caught up in my day-to-day activities and I frequently forget that I need to pursue other learning opportunities.  I forget to treat every day like a school day.  It was so much easier when education and self-improvement were forced upon me.  Now it takes planning, discipline and a little initiative.  Sometimes it is hard to find that initiative.   I am tired after working.  I don’t want to take a class or even read a book, but then I remind myself if it were easy then everyone would do it and I would not be special.  I want to be special.  I want to be better than most.  Dare I say I want to be the best at anything I chose to do.  To be the best requires planning, discipline and a little initiative (sound familiar?).  To be the best requires that you treat every day like a school day.

If you are content being one of the masses then please enjoy this evening’s episode of Real Housewives, but if you require a little more from life then I ask again:

What new things are you going to learn today?

Leave a Reply

