This Is How I Work – Greg Branecky

Greg Branecky has over 35 years of experience in the building supply industry: in sales, inventory, and purchasing.

Over the years, Greg has been president and treasurer of the Lumber Dealers of Connecticut, as well as Lumber Person of the Year in 2003. He is currently President of the Lumber Building and Material Dealer Foundation (LBMDF), and served on the executive committee of the Northeast Retail Lumber Association.

This Is How I Work

Mobile device:

Moto G

Current Computer:

PC Dell XPS 8500 64 bit Windows; 12GB RAM

One word that best describes how you work:

Working Smart: When I first started a class for Computer Aided Design (CAD), I became easily frustrated because I had to start over if a mistake was made or had to keep drawing the same line until it was correct.  After a week, learned shortcuts and was able to work smartly.

What apps/software tools can’t you live without?

Evernote: I’ve been with Evernote since 2009. Evernote is my digital brain. I can save emails, web clippings, and maps. My newest use is saving highlighted text on a kindle.

IFTTT is another tool. All Lumber Dealers Association of Connecticut (LDAC) blogs posts can be saved in Evernote or tweet them. There are so many channels and recipes IFTTT has.

Feedly is as important as  Evernote. All my RSS feeds are displayed in a newspaper type format. This is how I keep up with my google alerts and news for the day.

What is your workspace like?

I use organized piles. In my next office, I would like to have a desk that can be switched between standing and sitting.

What do you listen to while you work?

Focus@will or Alternative: when I listen to Focus@will, I’m very productive. The music beat works well for me.

What is your best time-saving shortcut or hack?

I setup categories or folders for my emails. For example, I use follow-up folders and separate folders for each of the different organizations I’m involved with.

Also, I use rules to color code my emails by who they are from, like work vs organizational emails.

Another hack is using CTRL-Enter on websites names. For example, type the address name then hit [CTRL-ENTER]. This will add the prefix and .com to the address.  Also, you can scroll down pages in your web browser simply by hitting the SPACEBAR.

What’s your favorite to-do list manager?

Pen & Paper and ToDoist: Pen & Paper is my favorite. However, I like ToDoist because I can use IFTTT with  Evernote and other apps to plan projects.

Besides your phone/computer, what gadget can’t you live without?

My ten-year-old IPOD. I’ve been listening to podcasts since I received it. I’m able to continually learn while driving. Two podcasts I’ve been listening to for ten years are Manager Tools and Grammar Girl.

Are you more of an introvert or an extrovert?

Introvert

What’s your sleep routine like?

I’m a morning person. I’m in bed by 10:00 pm and up between 5 and 6 am

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?

The best advice I received is how to institute change at work by introducing new processes in small increments which will make the change less intimidating for others.

What are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading Coolidge by Amity Shlaes. I read 20-24 books a year. You can follow me on GoodReads. There, I post books I want to read and have read.

How do you recharge?

I recharged by being with my wife and family.

2 thoughts on “This Is How I Work – Greg Branecky

Leave a Reply

